Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

Am I the only person in the world who can’t make kale chips?

It’s no secret that I don’t bake. I’m just not good at it. I mean, last Christmas I had a pretty successful cookie-making run, but that was not without help. (In the form of both human and Kitchenaid stand mixer.) But overall, I’m not a baker. I can cook on the stove top, but once that oven turns on, it’s hit or miss for me.

Which is probably why, even though everyone and their mother are making kale chips, I managed to burn them.

Yup. Not even five minutes in the oven and I burned ’em. Just in case anyone needed further proof that I can’t bake.

Now, here’s where you, my lovely readers, come in. I’m going to tell you what I did, and hopefully someone out there will be able to tell me where I went wrong. Because seriously, if kale chips are so hot right now, there must be a reason, and I want in on the secret, dammit!

I am not going to return to burying myself in a bag of potato chips. I will make successful, tasty kale chips!

So, here’s how it went down:

I took roughly half to 3/4 of a bunch of kale, cut off the stems and tore the leaves (leaving the center stems behind.) I laid them out on paper-towel lined baking sheets to dry and covered with more paper towels. After they dried, I tossed them with olive oil, salt and black pepper, then laid them back out on the baking sheets (sans paper towels), sprinkled with a little more salt and pepper, and into the oven they went (Preheated to 375F.) One sheet was on the middle rack, one on the top rack. Five minutes in, both racks were starting to burn.

Before:

After:

Womp.

I was all excited about these, too. When I went to Sickle’s Market with Kevin a couple weeks ago, I saw a big, green bunch of kale sitting there, and I had to have it. I have had kale chips on my radar for quite some time, since they’re popping up on just about every healthy eating blog. I was super-stoked to get such a yummy-looking bunch of kale and share my own chip recipe with you all. (If I was successful, I was even going to try my hand at kale chip nachos!)

Alas…this happened. Though it may be a lot funnier than if I had succeeded, it still bums me out. Plus, my house reeked of burnt kale. The night before a showing. That wasn’t so good.

So, tell me…where did I go wrong??

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Am I the only person in the world who can’t make kale chips?

  1. Every kale chip recipe I’ve seen has a much lower oven temperature, 275 or 300.

  2. Kicked Bitten and Scratched Blog on said:

    Did you use an actual recipe or did you make this up as you went? The oven temp sounds a bit on the high side to me. That’s the temp I use to bake chocolate chip cookies, which are much more dense then delicate kale leaves….also, if you have a dehydrator that might work also instead of baking. Some newer style ovens also have a dehydrator setting on them. It’ll take a hell of a lot longer, but I don’t think things can burn in a dehydrator!

  3. Is your oven calibrated correctly? I would use an oven thermometer to make sure that when you choose 375 degrees, the oven is really 375 degrees. You can usually adjust the thermostat yourself – see your owner’s manual. And I agree with the other comments, that temperature sounds high for making kale chips. Good luck!

  4. Thank you everyone! Oven temp. does seem to be the problem here. Someday down the road, I will try these again–thanks for the input!

  5. Hey Alex! That’s such a bummer your kale chips burnt!! 😦 I put mine in at 375 and they did not burn and I left them in for 15 minutes. Maybe my oven is the one that isn’t calibrated correctly. This isn’t the first time I’ve suspected it, either. I’ll have to investigate this.

    • Liz,

      I actually used your post as a guideline–that’s where I got 375 from! I’m also thinking you may want to get your oven checked, then. Because after 5 minutes mine were pretty charred. Good luck with that!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

In the kitchen with Kath

Old favorites...New discoveries. Fresh and easy!

Heike Herrling

...but it tasted good

Danny's Kitchen

Food that creatively inspires...

Chicken Soup for the Sole

Cooking with no one but a pan and a plan.

Kicked,Bitten, & Scratched

writings from the mind and heart of a veterinary technician

Bookery & Cookery

A catalogue of my literary and culinary pursuits and perusals.

...our traveling without moving!...

Not just another WordPress.com site!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Communications & Legal Studies

Keep me posted @ IC Library

Ink-Drained Kvetch

Journalism, media and work in the digital age

Ethical Martini

The home of media ethics and martinis

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Raven Montana B.

The meaning of it all.

